Bivins, McCurry announced to Coastal Plain League First Team

Bivins, McCurry announced to Coastal Plain League First Team

HOLLY SPRINGS, N.C. - Alec Bivins and Kaleb McCurry of the Mars Hill Lions were named to the Coastal Plain League's All-CPL first team, announced Tuesday. 

Bivins and McCurry played for the Forest City Owls this past summer, helping their team to a 36-18 record.  Bivins, a starting pitcher, went 5-2 in nine appearances and posted a 2.81 ERA.  In 48 innings of work, he struck out 47 hitters and allowed only one homerun.

McCurry's relief efforts did not go unnoticed either.  In 10 appearances, the Burnsville native had a stellar 1.78 ERA which was third best on the team.  He struck out 31 batters in 30.1 innings of work and picked up a victory on the season.

The Coastal Plains League is the premier summer collegiate baseball league in the nation, boasting fifteen teams.

A full list of the first and second team selections is posted below.

First Team
C - Harris Yett (Gastonia / Charlotte)
1B - Evan Edwards (HP-Thomasville / NC State)
2B - Nick Podkul (Morehead City / Notre Dame)
3B - Mason McClellan (HP-Thomasville / Columbus State)
SS - Luke Morgan (Wilmington / College of Charleston)
DH/UTL - Jayson Newman (Fayetteville / Cal St. Northridge)
DH/UTL - Seth Hoagland (Forset City / Iona)
DH/UTL - Matthew Pita (Savannah / Virginia Military)
DH/UTL - Drake McNamara (Peninsula / Southern Indiana)
OF - Billy Wilson (Edenton / Loyola Marymount)
OF - Justin Dean (Wilmington / Lenoir-Rhyne)
OF - Connor Grant (Forest City / North Greenville)
OF - Bryce Fischer (Savannah / Oklahoma State)
OF - Zachary Spivey (Lexington County / Bethune-Cookman)
SP - Zach Neff (Fayetteville / Austin Peay)
SP - Jason Goe (HP-Thomasville / Morehead State)
SP - Griffin McLarty (Fayetteville / College of Charleston)
SP - Devin Sweet (Asheboro / NC Central)
SP - Alec Bivins (Forest City / Mars Hill)
SP - Clay Young (HP-Thomasville / Catawba)
RP - Carmen Giampetruzzi (Edenton / Boston College)
RP - Collin Liberatore (Peninsula / Pittsburgh)
RP - Kaleb McCurry (Forest City / Mars Hill)
RP - Ben Gross (Holly Springs / Princeton)

Second Team
C - Peyton Isaacson (Holly Springs / Coastal Carolina)
1B - Zach Jacobs (Florence / Francis Marion)
2B - Christian Hollie (Savannah / UT-Arlington)
3B - Jonathan Embry (Peninsula / Liberty)
SS - Keaton Weisz (Martinsville / Coastal Carolina)
DH/UTL - Connor Kopach (Edenton / Southern Illinois)
DH/UTL - Chandler Corley (Morehead City / Armstrong State)
DH/UTL - Chaz Davey (Gastonia / Erskine)
DH/UTL - Drew Delsignore (Peninsula / Mercryhurst)
OF - Clark Brinkman (Asheboro / Creighton)
OF - Adam Sisk (Holly Springs / James Madison)
OF - Dawnoven Smith (Wilson / North Carolina A&T)
OF - Austin Edgette (Fayetteville / Bloomsburgh)
OF - Logan Mattix (Savannah / Georgia College)
SP - Colt Harlow (Peninsula / James Madison)
SP - Bryan Cruse (Savannah / Memphis)
SP - Nick Wegmann (Edenton / Binghamton)
SP - Noah Thompson (Gastonia / Seton Hall)
SP - Daniel Poidomani (Forest City / Stevens)
SP - Breydan Gorham (Wilmington / UNC Wilmington)
RP - Nick Silber (HP-Thomasville / Rice)
RP - Daniel Wiggins (Gastonia / USC-Aiken)
RP - Ryan Hedrick (Wilmington / Presbyterian)
RP - Ryan Lefner (Holly Springs / Saint Louis)